I grew up in rural Derbyshire, but my adult life has been spent mostly in London, with long intervals in Norfolk and Deal, all inspiring places. I was educated mostly in convent schools; then studied English and went on to qualify as a solicitor, working for what is now the Crown Prosecution Service, thus learning a bit about murder at second hand.  Years later, writing became the real vocation, although the law and its ramifications still haunt me and inform many of my novels.

I’m a novelist, short story writer for magazines and radio, sometime Radio 4 contributor, (Front Row, Quote Unquote, Night Waves,) and presenter of Tales from the Stave.  When I’m not working (which is as often as possible), I can be found in the nearest junk/charity shop or auction, looking for the kind of paintings which enhance my life.  Otherwise, with a bit of luck, I’m relaxing by the sea with a bottle of wine and a friend or two.



To view all the jacket sleeves and see details on each novel please visit the novels page.

Helen West

  1. A Question of Guilt (1988)
  2. Trial by Fire (1990) aka Not That Kind of Place
  3. Deep Sleep (1991)
  4. Shadow Play (1993)
  5. A Clear Conscience (1994)
  6. Without Consent (1996)
  7. A Helen West Omnibus (omnibus) (2002)
  8. A Second Helen West Omnibus (omnibus) (2004)

Sarah Fortune

  1. Shadows On the Mirror (1989)
  2. Perfectly Pure and Good (1994)
  3. Staring At the Light (1999)
  4. Looking Down (2004)
  5. Safer Than Houses (2005)
  6. Sarah Fortune Omnibus (omnibus) (2007)
  7. Omnibus Seeking Sanctuary / Nature of the Beast (2007)

Other Novels

  1. The Playroom (1991) (originally written as Frances Hegarty)
  2. Half Light (1992) (originally written as Frances Hegarty)
  3. Let's Dance (1995)
  4. Blind Date (1998)
  5. Undercurrents (2000)
  6. The Nature of the Beast (2001)
  7. Seeking Sanctuary (2003)
  8. The Art of Drowning (2006)
  9. Blood from Stone (2008)


  • Edgar Awards Best Novel nominee (1990) : A Question of Guilt Dagger Awards
  • Best Novel nominee (2006) : Safer Than Houses
  • Dagger Awards: Best Novel nominee STARING AT THE LIGHT (1999)
  • Dagger Awards: Silver Dagger DEEP SLEEP (1998)



Frances FyfieldFrances Fyfield

home I novels I biography I spoken word I contact

website designed and maintained by Burble